The Colorado Watercolor Society is an organization dedicated to upholding the highest standards and principles of art and to promote, encourage, educate and foster an interest in fine art in all media, especially watercolor.

CWS State Exhibit 2022 Award Winners

Best of Show - Title: Six Horses Artist: Susan Marion

1 st Place Founders Award - Title: Hay Barn Artist: Randy Hale

2 nd Place Award of Excellence - Title: Testing the Water Artist: Nancy Sullo

3 rd Place Award of Excellence - Title: The Way I Remember It Artist: Scott Roberts

4 th Place Merit Award - Title: Exodus Artist: Sandy Day Selbert

5 th Place Merit Award - Title: Up A Tree Artist: Kathy Cranmer

Chuck Danford Celebration Award - Title: Gyotaku Artist: Rosemarie Lahnert

1 – Honorable Mention - Title: Deep Purple Artist: Susan Lyons

2 – Honorable Mention - Title: Ups-a-Daisy Artist: Linden Kirby

3 – Honorable Mention - Title: More Than Meets the Eye Artist: Janis Goldblatt

4 – Honorable Mention - Title: Wednesday Morning In Crested Butte Artist: Steve Griggs

Chuck Danford Award

We want to sincerely thank Chuck Danford and his family for their outpouring of love for CWS. The award created in his name was presented by his family in this photo. Thank you for your continued support of the arts. We are eternally grateful for what Chuck has done for our society and for water media as a whole.

        2020 New Trends in Water Media Exhibit                   

Congratulations to the Award Winners !

 New Trends Exhibit  2020


Best of Show           Portrait of an Artist         Lynn Nebergall

First Place               Peonies in Crystal Bowl        Kathy Cranmer

Second Place           Trumpet Call                      Linda Renaud                   

Third Place              Summer Flowers                Pattie Bowler    

Honorable Mention      Winter Along the Front Range        Carole Barton

Honorable Mention      Street of Kadifekale                      Orville Giguiento
Honorable Mention      A Gift from the Sun                       Caroline Hanna

Honorable Mention      Corona Lisa                                     Johanna Morrell   

Congratulations to the award winners Splash of Colorado 2020 !

1st Place                              Randy Hale                       Storm Brewing

2nd Place                             Lorraine Watry                  Rush Hour

3rd Place                             Susan Marion                    Bicycles


Honorable Mention            Ann Salviazul                     Morning After the Storm

                                             Carol Newsom                   Ziggy’s Race

                                             Curt Gillespie                    Ancient Warmth

                                             Karen Hill                           Gunnison Landscape

                                             Sandy Day-Selbert            Mind Channels

                                             Linden Kirby                      Broken Can Be Mended

Juror's Choice Award        Linda Renaud                    It's Ok 

NWS New Trends Exhibit 2020

CWS Annual Members Show 2019 Winners

Congratulations to the Award Winners !

1st Place    Carol Newsom for Mountain Man

2nd Place   Sue Kane for Below the Rim

3rd Place    Richard Forsyth for Natives


Honorable Mention      Ann Patrice Williams for Perfect Poppy

New Member Award   Jeremy Jones for Recalling Sturbridge

CWS State Exhibit 2019 Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 28th CWS State Exhibit 2019 !

Best of Show: Cindy Brabec-King      Pantry Scraps
2nd Place :      Pattie Bowler                Gone Fishing
3rd Place:       Carol Pitts                     Pigeon Feeder
4th Place:       Janis Goldblatt             Calibrate

1st Honorable  Mention:          Theresa Shepard         Summers End

2nd Honorable Mention:          Lynn Nebergall            Egg Drop Soup

Francis Olson Memorial          Judy Porzak                 Enlightened

Mountainside Art Guild           Craig Davis                  The Quilter

Painted Toe Society                Beatrice Trautman        Sierra Sentinel

Rocky Mountain Water Media Janice Hanson            Temple Tears

Patron Award                           Becky Silver                 Stop on Red

Past President Award             Carla Stoltzfus              Doves

Parker Artists Guild                Rita Derjue                    We’re Here

Pikes Peak Watercolor Society Marcio Correa           Red Skies Over China Town

Splash Of Colorado  2019 Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of Splash of Colorado 2019 !

1st Place         Giliad Jacob (Kobi) Jekel

2nd Place        Turbulent Sky Tom B. Lockhart

3rd Place         March Storm Tom Newsom

Honorable Mention        Searching for the Sun Jackie Kingsbury

Honorable Mention        Fragrance of Gardenias   Ann Patrice Williams

Juror’s Award                Electric Landscape Susan Crawford

CWS State Exhibit 2018 Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners !

Pikes Peak Watercolor Society Award  Beatrice Trautman
Francis Olson Memorial Award             Carol Newsom
Mountainside Art Guild Award              Sue Andzik
Fourth Place                                            Kathleen Lanzoni
Third Place                                              Tom Lockhart
Second Place                                          Nancy Priest
Best Of Show                                          Susan Montague

Honorable Mention                                 Lynn Nebergall 


CWS Annual Members Show 2018 Winners

Congratulations to the 2018 Colorado Watercolor Society Members Exhibit award winners!

Cathy Pennak - “Smell the Roses” - First Place

Randy Hale - “Vienna Afternoon” -  Second Place

Shanthi Kumar - “Silver Spoon”   -  Third Place

Gene Youngman - “Still Needs Work” -  Honorable Mention

Tim Brenner - “Turquoise Adobe” -       Honorable Mention                               

Diane Fechenbach - “Sheppard Street, Earl Morning” - Honorable Mention

Splash of Colorado 2018 Winners

 Congratulations to the following award winners!

Honorable Mention - Jackie Kingsbury for The Guardian

Honorable Mention - Donna Lutsky for Girl With Bonnet

HM Juror's Commendation - Patricia Amlin for Peaks at Crested Butte

Third Place - Stan Johnson for Three Trout

Second Place - Virginia Blackstone for Earth to Earth

Best of Show - Pat Foster for Forest Dreams

New Trends Exhibit Award Winners 

Congratulations to the artists !!

Janney Sims, Prague Fun -   1st Place

Audrey LedgerwoodEagle Soars - 2nd Place

Karen Hill, Offering to Morpheus - 3rd Place

Ken Imler,  Black Eyed Susan -  Merit Award

                                2017 CWS State Exhibition Award Winners

Congratulations to the following artist who received awards at the 2017 exhibit:

  • Steve Griggs - Best of Show
  • Nancy Dee - Second Place
  • Naum Katsenelsen - Third Place
  • Anita Winter - Mountain Side Art Guild Award
  • Carol Newsom - Frances Olson Award
  • Diane Fechenbach - Pikes Peak Award
  • Kay Moore - Honorable Mention


© 2013 Colorado Watercolor Society | Web Design
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software